I N D E P E N D E N C E

I sit by the terrace of the Corporate Office Building tonight, with winds so cool that I don’t wanna go back to the office dorm-room anymore. Something about us millennials is bugging me since this morning, and I know I have to figure it out.

Aside from career stability and the pursuit of purpose, millennials also seek one more thing: independence. But does this mean that we should defy the traditional Filipino household and start to move out from our homes at the age of 18? Not necessarily.

Being independent means having the ability to take care of ourselves and our lives. We may mess up sometimes but what’s important is that we’re ready for the consequences of our choices.

Wise people learn from their own mistakes, but wiser people learn from the mistakes of others. So I think, as a working millennial, that I should learn from as many people, travel to as many places, go through as many experiences as I can, because when I finally feel free and responsible, that’s when I become independent, regardless if I live alone or not.

Independence Ae Llantada Blog

Also appearing on my Instagram on April 24, 2017. Photo was taken on a hilltop at Quitinday Rolling Hills, Camalig, Albay.

Leave a Reply

